Land of know-how and preserved nature

In the north of the Ajaccio region

  • Campaign
  • Beach
  • Village

 

Corsica is often described as a mountain in the sea, but it is in the West Corsica region that this image takes on its full meaning.

Once past the Col de San Bastianu, you will be struck by the view of the mountains dominating this territory and its gulfs opening onto the sea. The most famous of these, the Gulf of Porto, is home to the Calanche de Piana, the Gulf of Girolata and the Scandola nature reserve, the island's only UNESCO site.

A land of know-how and preserved nature, this territory has been able to share its peaceful and authentic side over the years.

Stroll along the many hiking trails in the mountains and along the coast, discover the wealth of producers and craftsmen in this authentic region, go in search of its treasures, recharge your batteries in the heart of this unspoilt nature, in short, take your time and enjoy... "

 

For more information www.ouestcorsica.com

In the north of the Ajaccio region

Focus on ...

The Scandola reserve 

 

 

A supernatural landscape 

It is a wild peninsula, born from an ancient volcano that collapsed into the sea, with unique and bewitching landscapes.

Scandola covers 900 hectares of land and 1,000 hectares of sea, a mecca for biodiversity and a reference in terms of environmental protection

 

You will be overwhelmed by the beauty of the place. The cliffs are shaped by the constant movement of the water and the perpetual assaults of the wind and are like sculptures.  

The turquoise waters, the reddish rock and the green vegetation offer a sumptuous palette of colours.

scandola

 

Exceptional fauna and flora

 

It is on these red-tinted cliffs that oaks, myrtle, mastic and arbutus trees have found refuge. More than 30 plants have been identified as endemic. The reserve shelters a rare flora composed of species such as the armeria soleirolii, the erodium of Corsica, the daisy-leaved ragwort, or the tree euphora.

 

The fauna is just as remarkable! Home to many birds, it is a must for allornithology enthusiasts. The emblem of the Scandola Nature Reserve is none other than the Osprey.

 

Finally, the crystalline waters are home to an unparalleled abundance of underwater life. No less than 450 species of algae and 125 species of invertebrates have been counted. The reserve is also home to the largest Posidonia meadow: this plant has the particularity of producing large quantities ofoxygen, improving the clarity of the waters and hosting a very diverse underwater life: corals, groupers, dentex, moray eels, etc. Meet up off Scandola with the marine mammals, tuna, swordfish and perhaps you will be lucky enough to come across dolphins

Did you know that?

  • It is the first reserve in France to protect the entire natural heritage, both on land and at sea.
  •  The nature reserve is an exceptional site for the study of
    red coral populations, among others, because its strict protection has allowed
    coral to grow for more than 30 years without fishing pressure and
    to reach sizes rarely seen outside protected sites at shallow
    depths.
  • In 1983, its exceptional preservation led to its inscription on theUNESCOWorld Heritage List.

  •  Some thousands of animal species have found refuge here. Thus, wild boar, reptiles, foxes, amphibians, golden eagles, peregrine falcons, ospreys and gulls share this territory. A bat nicknamed the "molossus" (since it is the largest in Europe) has also taken up residence here. 

     

How to get there? 

By the sea...

Every week, a number of sea tour companies offer you the opportunity to visit this marvellous and breathtaking site from Ajaccio. Let yourself be amazed by the cliffs that plunge steeply into the translucent waters of the Mediterranean. If you wish to rent or use your own boat, we remind you that it is forbidden to swim or fish there.


Focus on ... 

The calanques of Piana

 

On the west coast of the island, halfway between Ajaccio and Calvi, lies this almost unreal landscape. 

The Calanques de Piana are a geological formation of red porphyry of volcanic origin with magmatic rocks. This hard rock has been sculpted by the wind and the sea creating a natural work of art.

These pink granite rocks, pierced by various cavities called "taffoni" ("holes" in Corsican), due to the action of the elements, allow you to glimpse different shapes, which will transport your imagination.

Be mesmerised by its crystal clear waters and caves.

The natural swimming pool of Capo Rosso will close this enchanting show.

How to get there? 

By car, boat or on foot...

The most classic way to visit is to take the only road that links Piana to Porto (the D81). A total change of scenery guaranteed. Narrow and winding, this road will lead you to the heart of the calanques. Some very popular places will allow you to park and admire the rocks.
For walkers, the visit can also be done on foot. A magical experience, which will allow you to admire the wonders of this postcard, these rocks sculpted by the elements, these wild and preserved landscapes. For your hike, there are several paths of varying difficulty and duration: the castle, the muleteer's path, the chestnut path, the Capo d'orto path, the Capo Rosso.
And to finish, the most beautiful way to visit this sumptuous place, the boat. Discovering the calanques by boat is the guarantee of an unforgettable spectacle. By boat you will discover the landscape from another angle, the opportunity to realise how grandiose and majestic it is.

discover the scandola reserve and the piana creeks

Terre de savoir-faire et de nature préservée

Au nord du Pays d’Ajaccio

  • Campagne
  • Plage
  • Village

 

La Corse est souvent décrite comme une montagne dans la mer mais c’est la région Ouest Corsica que cette image prendra tout son sens.

Passé le Col de San Bastianu, vous serez saisi par la vue sur les montagnes dominant de ce territoire et ses golfes s’ouvrant sur la mer. Le plus célèbre d’entre eux, le golfe de Porto, abrite les Calanche de Piana, le golfe de Girolata et la réserve naturelle de Scandola formant le seul site Unesco de l’île.

Terre de savoir-faire et de nature préservée, ce territoire a su partager au fil du temps son côté paisible et authentique.

Arpentez les nombreux sentiers de randonnées de ses montagnes comme le long de ses côtes, découvrez la richesse des producteurs et artisans de ce territoire authentique, partez à la recherche de ses trésors, ressourcez-vous au cœur de cette nature restée sauvage, en bref, prenez le temps et profitez… »

 

Pour plus d’infos  www.ouestcorsica.com

Au nord du Pays d’Ajaccio

Zoom sur …

La réserve de Scandola 

 

 

Un paysage surnaturel 

Il est une presqu’île sauvage, née d’un ancien volcan effondré dans la mer, vêtue de paysages uniques et envoutants.

Scandola s’étend sur 900 hectares terrestres et 1000 hectares marins, un haut lieu de la biodiversité, et référence en termes de sauvegarde de l’environnement

 

Vous serrez subjuguez par la beauté des lieux. Foçonnées par les mouvements incessants de l’eau, les assauts perpetuels du vent, ses falaises sont semblables à des sculptures.  

Les eaux turquoises, la roche rougeâtre ainsi que les verts de la végétation, offrent une palettes de couleurs somptueuses.

scandola

 

Faune et flore exceptionnelle

 

C’est sur ces falaises teintées de rouge, que chênes, myrte, lentisque et arbousiers ont trouvés refuge. Plus de 30 végétaux ont été recensés comme endémiques.. La réserve abrite une flore rarissime composée d’espèces telles que l’armeria soleirolii, l’erodium de Corse, le séneçon à feuilles de marguerite, ou l’euphore arborescente.

 

La faune y est, quant à elle, tout aussi remarquable ! Terrain de vie de nombreux oiseaux, c’est un lieu incontournable pour tous les passionnés d’ornithologie. A savoir que l’emblème de la Réserve Naturelle de Scandola n’est autre que le Balbuzard pêcheur. .

 

Enfin les eaux crystallines accueillent une vie sous-marine d’une abondance sans égal. Ce ne sont pas moins de 450 espèces d’algues et 125 espèces d’invertébrés qui ont été recensés. La réserve accueille également le plus grand herbier de posidonies : cette plante a la particularité de produire de grandes quantités d’oxygène, d’améliorer la clarté des eaux et d’héberger une vie sous-marine très diversifiée : coraux, mérous, dentis, murènes … Rendez-vous au large de Scandola avec les mammifères marins, thons, espadons et peut-être aurez vous la chance de croiser des dauphins.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Elle est la première réserve de France à protéger l’ensemble du patrimoine naturel, qu’il soit terrestre ou marin.
  •  La réserve naturelle est un site exceptionnel pour l’étude des populations
    de corail rouge, entre autres, car sa protection stricte a permis au corail de
    se développer pendant plus de 30 ans sans la pression de la pêche et
    d’atteindre des tailles rarement observées hors des sites protégés à de faibles
    profondeurs.
  • En 1983, sa préservation exceptionnelle lui a  valu son inscription au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO.

  •  Quelques milliers d’espèces animales ont pu y trouver refuge. Ainsi, sanglier, reptile, renard,  amphibien, aigle royal, faucon pèlerin, balbuzard… et goélands se partagent ce territoire. Une chauve-souris surnommée le « molosse » (puisque c’est la plus grande d’Europe) y a aussi élu domicile. 

     

Comment s’y rendre ? 

Par la mer…

Des compagnies de promenades en mer vous proposent de visiter chaque semaine ce site merveilleux et époustouflant au départ d’Ajaccio. Laissez vous émerveiller par les falaises qui plongent à pic dans les eaux translucides de la Méditérrannée. Si vous souhaitez louer ou utiliser votre propre bateau, nous vous rappelons qu’il y est interdit de se baigner ou de pêcher.


Zoom sur … 

Les calanques de Piana

 

Sur la côte ouest de l’île, à mi-chemin entre Ajaccio et Calvi, se situe ce paysage presque irréel. 

Les Calanques de Piana sont une formation géologique de porphyre rouge d’origine volcanique à roches magmatiques. Cette roche dure a été sculptée par le vent et la mer créant une œuvre d’art naturelle. 

Ces rochers de granit rose, percés de différentes cavités appelées « taffoni » (« trous » en langue Corse), dues à l’action des éléments laissent entrevoir différentes formes, qui transporteront votre imagination.

Laissez vous hypnotiser par ses eaux cristallines et ses grottes.

La piscine naturelle de Capo Rosso, quant à elle, viendra clôturer ce spectacle féerique.

Comment s’y rendre ? 

En voiture, en bateau, ou à pied …

La façon la plus classique d’effectuer votre visite sera d’emprunter l’unique route qui relie Piana à Porto (la D81). Dépaysement total garanti. Étroite et sinueuse cette route vous mènera au cœur des calanques. Quelques endroits très prisées vous permettront de vous garer et d’admirer les roches.
Pour les marcheurs, la visite peut également se faire à pied. Une expérience magique, qui vous permettra d’admirer au plus près les merveilles de cette carte postale, ces roches sculptées par les éléments, ces paysages sauvages et préservés. Pour votre randonnée plusieurs sentiers, de difficultés et de durée différentes, s’offrent à vous: le château fort, le sentier du muletier, le chemin de la châtaignerai, le chemin du Capo d’orto, le Capo Rosso.
Et pour finir, la plus belle des façons de visiter ce lieu somptueux, le bateau. Découvrir les calanques en bateau, c’est la garantie d’offrir à ses yeux un spectacle inoubliable. En bateau vous découvrirez le paysage sous un autre angle, l’occasion de vous rendre compte à quel point il est grandiose et majestueux.

découvrir la réserve de scandola et les calanques de piana