A true haven of peace

Prunelli Valley

  • Campaign
  • Mountain
  • Village

Whether you are from here or elsewhere, the Prunelli valley is a magnificent invitation to travel for lovers of Corsica.

 

Located east of Ajaccio

Centuries-old Genoese bridges

The largest lake in Corsica

Prunelli Valley

 

The Prunelli valley is made up of five villages:

  1. Bastelicaccia,
  2. Eccica-Suarella,
  3. Ocana,
  4. Tolla,
  5. Bastelica

A welcoming land steeped in history, a true haven of peace, it also abounds in natural riches that make its heritage unique.

The valley stretches from the gates of Ajaccio to the foot of Monte Renoso, the result of a perfect marriage between coastal landscapes and mountainous regions. From the Val d'Ese resort for winter sports enthusiasts to the coolness of the magnificent shaded paths, and from the Tolla lake and its nautical base, numerous activities are offered to you in a dream setting.

Focus on 

The Tolla lake 

To tell the truth, the first time you arrive at the Tolla lake, you are surprised by the beauty of the place. At 30 km from Ajaccio, one discovers a long stretch of water in the middle of deep gorges and green vegetation. The Tolla lake is located at 500 m of altitude. It is an artificial lake that was formed in the 1960s following the construction of a hydraulic dam on the Prunelli river. The Tolla lake has since become the largest lake in Corsica.

The Tolla lake is not only a place to contemplate the landscape. There are many activities to enjoy with family and friends. First of all, the presence of a leisure centre is a godsend. From May to September, it offers a wide range of water sports: pedal boats, canoes, kayaks or stand up paddles? the choice is yours!

If you prefer fishing, you can rent a fishing boat (3 seats), as the lake is home to many species of freshwater fish (pike, pike-perch, perch, carp, roach, catfish, etc.). And don't worry about being disturbed by motorised vehicles. They are prohibited on the lake site.

For those who prefer walking, the banks of the lake have been developed to better discover the site and its surroundings. It is also possible from the village of Bastelica to discover the Prunelli region and the Tolla lake by electric mountain bike.

For thrill-seekers, try the via ferrata at Tolla!

And for those who don't want to get in the water or go for a walk, there is always a deckchair to sunbathe on or a bench next to the two straw huts that offer food and drink.

As you can see, the Tolla lake is well worth a visit and offers a real alternative for those who wish to enjoy fresh water bathing while practising water sports and outdoor activities.

How to get there?

 

From Ajaccio, the shortest way to get to the Tolla lake is to take the departmental road 3 from Bastelicaccia. You will be there in 30 minutes.

However, going to the lake of Tolla allows a much wider discovery of the beautiful micro region that is the Prunelli: the Prunelli loop

From Ajaccio, take the territorial road 40 which will take you to Cauro. At the end of the village turn left towards Bastelica (D27). The maquis-like vegetation (holm oak...) quickly gives way to a forest of majestic pines. You enter the forest of Pineta where many walks are possible. Here you will find a little treasure for those who want to discover it: the Genoese bridge of Zipitoli. Located only 300 m from the road, it spans a small river in the middle of pines and ferns.

The aim is then to continue to the village of Bastelica, one of the largest villages in the region. Historically, it is known as the birthplace of Sampiero Corso. Today Bastelica is much more famous for the production of local products such as cured meats. A stop in one of the many restaurants in the village will give you the opportunity to taste them.

For the return journey, at the exit of Bastelica take the D3 which will lead you to the Prunelli gorges where the road passes steeply over the Prunelli river. The road will then lead you to the village of Tolla and its lake below. On a hot summer's day, this will be an opportunity to refresh yourself with the joys of swimming and water sports.

focus on 

Sampiero Corso 

Sampiero corso is one of the most famous characters in Corsican history. Born in 1498 in Bastelica, a plaque in his native village (hamlet of Dominicacci) indicates what would have been his birthplace. Having chosen the profession of arms, he made a dazzling career and joined the armies of the great king of France, François 1er .

Wanting to play a role in his island, he tried by all means to chase the Genoese away. He was finally killed in an ambush near the village of Eccica-Suarella, a few kilometres from Bastelica.

His native village paid tribute to him by erecting a monument to his glory in the main square, the statue of which is the work of the great sculptor Vital-Dubray.

Véritable havre de paix

Vallée du Prunelli

  • Campagne
  • Montagne
  • Village

Que vous soyez d’ici ou d’ailleurs, la vallée du Prunelli est une magnifique invitation au voyage pour les amoureux de la Corse.

 

Situé à l’Est d’Ajaccio

Des ponts génois centenaires

Le plus grand lac de Corse

Vallée du Prunelli

 

La vallée du Prunelli est constituée de cinq villages:

  1. Bastelicaccia,  
  2.  Eccica-Suarella
  3. Ocana,
  4. Tolla
  5. Bastelica

Terre d’accueil chargée d’histoire, véritable havre de paix, elle regorge également de richesses naturelles qui rendent son patrimoine unique en son genre.

La vallée s’étend des portes d’Ajaccio au pied du Monte Renoso, résultat d’un mariage parfait entre paysages côtiers et régions montagneuses. De la station du Val d’Ese pour les amateurs de sports d’hiver. à la fraîcheur de magnifiques sentiers ombragés, et du  lac de Tolla et sa base nautique, de nombreuses activités s’offrent à vous dans un décor de rêve.

Zoom sur 

Le lac de Tolla 

A vrai dire, la première fois qu’on arrive au lac de Tolla, on est surpris par la beauté du lieu. A 30 km d’Ajaccio, on découvre une longue étendue d’eau au milieu de gorges encaissées et d’une végétation verdoyante. Le lac de Tolla est situé à 500 m d’altitude. C’est un lac artificiel qui s’est formé dans les années 60 suite à la construction d’un barrage hydraulique sur le fleuve Prunelli. Le lac de Tolla est depuis devenu le plus grand lac de Corse.

Le lac de Tolla n’est pas seulement un site ou on l’on contemple le paysage. On peut y pratiquer de nombreuses activités en famille ou entre amis. Tout d’abord, la présence d’une base de loisirs est une aubaine. Elle permet de mai à septembre, une large gamme d’activités nautiques : pédalos, canoés, kayaks, ou stand up paddles ? à vous de choisir !

Vous préférez plutôt la pêche ? ça tombe bien, la location de barques de pêche (3 places) est possible car dans le lac s’ébattent nombre d’espèces de poissons d’eau douce (brochets, sandres, perches, carpes, gardons, silures, etc.). Et ne craignez pas d’être dérangé par des engins à moteur. Ils sont interdits sur le site sur le lac.

Pour ceux préfèrent les balades pédestres, les berges du lac ont été aménagées pour mieux découvrir le site et ses alentours. Il est également possible depuis le village de Bastelica de découvrir la région du Prunelli et le lac de Tolla en VTT électrique.

Pour les amateurs de sensations fortes, tentez-la via ferrata de Tolla ! un must.

Et puis, pour ceux qui ne souhaite pas mettre un pied dans l’eau ou se balader, ils pourront toujours trouver un transat pour broncher ou un banc à côté des deux paillottes qui proposent restauration et boissons.

Vous l’aurez compris, le lac de Tolla mérite le détour et offre une vraie alternative pour ceux qui souhaite profiter des joies de la baignade en eau douce tout en pouvant pratiquer des activités nautiques et de plein air.

Comment s’y rendre ?

 

Depuis Ajaccio, le chemin le plus court pour se rendre au lac de Tolla est d’emprunter la route départementale 3 au départ de Bastelicaccia. Vous y serez en 30 minutes.

Cependant, se rendre au lac de Tolla permet une découverte beaucoup plus large de la belle micro région qu’est le Prunelli : la boucle du Prunelli

Au départ d’Ajaccio, emprunter plutôt la territoriale 40 qui vous emmènera jusqu’à Cauro. A la sortie du village tournez à gauche direction Bastelica (D27). Rapidement la végétation de type maquis (chêne vert…) laisse la place à une foret de pins majestueux.  Vous entrez dans la forêt de Pineta où de nombreuses balades pédestres sont possibles. Ici, se trouve un petit trésor pour qui compte le découvrir : le pont génois de Zipitoli. Situé à seulement 300 m de la route, il enjambe une petite rivière au milieu de pins et de fougères.

Le but est ensuite de continuer votre route jusqu’au village de Bastelica, un des plus grands villages de la région. Historiquement, il est connu pour être le village natal de Sampiero Corso. Actuellement Bastelica est beaucoup plus réputé pour la fabrication de produits locaux tels que la charcuterie. Une halte dans l’un des nombreux restaurants du village sera l’occasion d’en gouter.

Pour le retour, à la sortie de Bastelica emprunter la D3 qui vous mènera vers les gorges du Prunelli ou la route passe à pic au-dessus du fleuve Prunelli.la route vous mènera alors jusqu’au village de Tolla et son lac en contrebas. Par une chaude journée d’été, ce sera l’occasion de se rafraichir grâce aux joies de la baignade et des activités nautiques

zoom sur 

Sampiero Corso 

Sampiero corso est l’un des personnages les plus connu de l’ histoire corse . Né en 1498 à Bastelica, une plaque dans son village natal (hameau des Dominicacci) indique ce qui aurait été sa maison natale. Ayant choisi le métier des armes, il fait une carrière fulgurante et rejoint les armées du grand roi de France,  François 1er .

Voulant jouer un rôle dans son île, il cherche par tous les moyens à en chasser les génois. Il sera finalement tué dans une embuscade près du village d’Eccica-Suarella à quelques km de Bastelica.

Son village natal lui rendra hommage en érigeant, sur la place principale, un monument à sa gloire et dont la statue est l’œuvre du grand sculpteur Vital-Dubray.