Ecouter

Follow us through the streets of Ajaccio: the alleys of the old town

Today we take you to the narrow streets of the old town. Who owned the mansions we are about to pass? What do these beautiful pediments represent? Follow us, we'll tell you everything!

When you visit a town, you are attracted by its old centre and the treasures it contains. The old town of Ajaccio is no exception to the rule and hides some beautiful historical facades...

 

FROM THE PLACE FOCH TO THE CITADEL

Let's take as a starting point of this escapade the place Foch (called place des Palmiers by the Ajaccians). Napoleon, then First Consul, had this square built so that it would become a link between the old town and the suburb.
Three axes run from the square:
- The main artery of the old town: rue Bonaparte
- The main access road to Ajaccio at the time: rue Fesch
- The avenue of the 1st Consul which ends at the Casone (becoming in turn cours Grandval and cours Général Leclerc)
Let us then take rue Bonaparte (formerly Carittu Drittu) which was for a long time the main street of Ajaccio. It was the only gateway to the city, which was demolished in 1801 at the same time as the ramparts.

At number 17, you can see the Palazzu Pozzo di Borgo a 4-star hotel with a remarkable marble portal. It is a former mansion belonging to the family of Charles André Pozzo di Borgo, Napoleon's sworn enemy. Immerse yourself in history by spending one (or more) night(s) there!

We head for the citadel, whose initial role was to protect the city from maritime attacks. Now owned by the city, it is currently being restored. Don't hesitate to visit it with Pierre-André, our guide.
Seen from above, the citadel has the shape of a six-pointed star, each one being a bastion. The four corner bastions are named after the four evangelists.

A WALK THROUGH THE STREETS OF ROI DE ROME, FORCIOLI CONTI AND ST CHARLES

Let's take advantage of being close to rue Forcioli Conti to walk along it. Don't forget to stop in front of theSt Erasmus Church (fishermen's church) whose interior is decorated with models of boats. Just next door, let's admire the façade of the Peraldi house (classified as a historical monument). Like many houses in the old town, it cannot be visited as it is a private property inhabited by the family.

At the corner of the cathedral turn right and go to rue Roi de Rome. The oldest street in the city is one of the most popular places for evening entertainment in Ajaccio, with its wine bars and restaurants.
If you look up, you can see the bell tower of the St Jean-Baptiste oratory where Napoleon's brothers and sisters were baptised.

At the corner of this church is the rue Saint-Charles. It is at number 5 of this street that Napoleon was born in the Bonaparte HouseIt is the most visited museum in Corsica.

Opposite the building, the square Letizia. A bust of the King of Rome, as a child, is enthroned in the centre, surrounded by Mediterranean or tropical plant species; their presence is intended to prove the mildness of the Ajaccio climate...

We continue to the end of the street and turn left. We are back in Place Foch.
We look forward to seeing you soon to walk the streets of our city together...

Suivez-nous dans les rues d’Ajaccio: les ruelles de la vieille ville

Publié le 23 mars 2022

Aujourd’hui on vous emmène dans les ruelles de la vieille ville. Qui possédait les hôtels particuliers devant lesquels nous allons passer ? A quoi correspondent ces beaux frontons ? Suivez-nous, on vous dit tout !

Quand on visite une ville, on est attiré par son centre ancien et les trésors qui s’y trouvent. La vieille ville d’Ajaccio ne déroge pas à la règle et cache de jolies façades historiques

De la Place Foch à la citadelle

Prenons comme point de départ de cette escapade la place Foch (appelée place des Palmiers par les Ajacciens). Napoléon, alors Premier Consul, a fait bâtir cette place pour qu’elle devienne un lien entre la vieille ville et le faubourg.
Trois axes se déploient à partir de la place :
– L’artère principale de la vieille ville : la rue Bonaparte
– La principale voie d’accès à Ajaccio à l’époque : la rue Fesch
– L’avenue du 1er consul qui se termine au Casone (en devenant tour à tour le cours Grandval puis le cours Général Leclerc)
Empruntons ensuite la rue Bonaparte (anciennement Carittu Drittu) qui a longtemps été la rue principale d’Ajaccio. Elle y abritait l’unique porte d’accès à la ville qui a été démolie en 1801 en même temps que les remparts.

Au n°17, on remarque le Palazzu Pozzo di Borgo un hôtel 4 étoiles au portail en marbre remarquable. Il s’agit d’un ancien hôtel particulier de la famille de Charles André Pozzo di Borgo, ennemi juré de Napoléon. Replongez dans l’Histoire en y passant une (ou plusieurs) nuit(s) !

Direction la citadelle dont le rôle initial était de protéger la cité des attaques maritimes. Devenue propriété de la ville, elle est actuellement en cours de réhabilitation. N’hésitez pas à la visiter accompagnés de Pierre-André, notre guide.
Vue d’en haut, la citadelle a la forme d’une étoile à 6 branches ; chacune étant un bastion. Les quatre bastions d’angle portent le nom des quatre évangélistes.

Balade dans les rues Roi de Rome, Forcioli Conti et St Charles

Profitons d’être à proximité de la rue Forcioli Conti pour l’emprunter. On ne manquera pas de s’arrêter devant l’Eglise St Erasme (église des pêcheurs) dont l’intérieur est décoré de maquettes de bateaux. Juste à côté, admirons la façade de la maison Peraldi (classée au titre des Monuments Historiques). Comme beaucoup de demeures de la vielle ville, on ne peut pas la visiter car c’est une propriété privée habitée par la famille.

A l’angle de la cathédrale tournons à droite et rendons-nous dans la rue Roi de Rome. La plus ancienne rue de la ville est l’un des lieux privilégiés des soirées ajacciennes au cœur de ses bars à vin et de ses restaurants. 
En levant les yeux, on aperçoit le clocher de l’oratoire St Jean-Baptiste où ont été baptisés les frères et sœurs de Napoléon.

Au coin de cette église se trouve la rue Saint-Charles. C’est au numéro 5 de cette rue qu’est né Napoléon dans la Maison Bonaparte, le musée le plus visités de Corse.

Face à la bâtisse, le square Letizia. Un buste du Roi de Rome, enfant, trône au centre, entouré d’espèces végétales méditerranéennes ou tropicales ; leur présence vise à prouver la douceur du climat ajaccien…

Continuons jusqu’au bout de la rue et tournons à gauche. Nous voilà de retour place Foch.
On vous donne rendez-vous très vite pour arpenter ensemble les rues de notre ville…

10 choses incontournables à faire à Ajaccio

10 Juin 2024
vue sur la plage du Petit Capo di Feno à la golden hour

En mai faites ce qu’il vous plaît

29 Avr 2024